04

Explore new ways

of photography:

this was the food event

Cologne June 28 2020

In Cologne's trendy local ZEN on Aachener Straße, new photographic approaches were taken on Sunday, June 28th, namely to photograph optically beautiful plates in such a way that the mouth watered. Many sets were built, on which we each worked with different light sources. After the introduction and the set-up, we were divided into four crews, each of whom "let off steam" with their own plates from the kitchen.

 

This event was special. We wanted to show that you shouldn't let the crisis get you down and that you could develop your photographic desire.

Here are a few impressions from the event.

My name is Nicole Karp. I am Guido's wife - and I did not "do my doctorate at the registry office". That means I am the woman behind the scenes and do not call myself a photographer.

Unfortunately, someone failed in our event at the last second. Since Guido wanted to maintain the dynamic of 3 participants per group, he "threw me into the cold water". I can cook, I have never photographed the food with the exception of a few cell phone snapshots. Macro photography: my premiere.

 

Now I would like to briefly tell you how it was for me:

I'm not really familiar with camera technology. I love to photograph concerts with Guido. I learned how to adjust the camera and that I only have to concentrate on one thing during the concert: the show. I only take photos of the stage and focus on the overall scene. So camera on aperture 2.8, ISO 800, 250sec. The only thing I change during the concert is time. Otherwise not at all, because it takes me too long to make the settings and may miss the highlight of the show.

After the introduction by Ingo * and Guido, I dared to set up the ring light and worked with the Datacolor Spyder Checkr for the first time. Camera set - and quickly inspired by the presented plates.

Wow! What colors! I quickly noticed that the "normal" perspective is not enough for me and started to experiment. Off to the floor, flat on your stomach - and "Bäm!" My picture.

 

I know that light is the most important element in photography and I have always been enthusiastic about daylight through Guido's teaching. My favorite picture is the plate in front of a window - the light is softened with a diffuser and photographed against the light. My highlight. My conclusion and that of the other participants: broaden your horizons. Don't be scared and do what you enjoy! By the way, the photos are almost "straigth out of cam" from Photoshop, I have no idea :-) I "pushed" a few controls in Lightroom, that's it.

Gallerie der Teilnehmer:

wir möchten hier festhalten: alle haben ausnahmslos einen tollen Job gemacht. Viel gelernt und alle anders. Super!

What the participants say:

Andreas Müller

Michael Jaster

Procedure:

Ingo Hilger

is my “partner in crime” - a lovable colleague whose job is to step in at the crucial moment and say “not like that”. Ingo is not only a trained chef & kitchen master, but also a luminary in the field of food photography, who is booked by the most renowned food magazines and top chefs to illustrate their books.

It allows us to simply get started with our photographic vision - and then to prevent us from making beginner mistakes.

The

Photo: Jost Gabriel / NewCut

 
  • Workshop Sunday June 28, 2020, 12 p.m. - 8 p.m.

  • Participation price € 449.

  • Speakers Ingo Hilger and Guido Karp

  • maximum 12 participants = 4 groups of 3 participants

  • four sets

  • Practical part from 1 to 6 p.m.

  • Fruit, mineral water, and coffee during the shoot

  • then dinner together

All detailed information about this event is available for download HERE.

Included in the price:

(C) 2020 GKP.LA - 8033 W SUNSET BLVD., #9500 - LOS ANGELES, CA 90046 USA - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. IMAGES REGISTERED WITH #US-COPYRIGHT-OFFICE

04

Explore new ways

of photography:

Das war der food event

Köln 28.Juni 2020

Im Kölner Szene-Lokal ZEN auf der Aachener Straße wurden am Sonntag, den 28 Juni neue fotografische Wege gegangen, nämlich optisch wunderschöne Teller so zu fotografieren, dass einem das Wasser im Mund zusammen läuft. Es wurden viele Sets aufgebaut, an denen wir jeweils mit unterschiedlichen Lichtquellen gearbeitet haben. Nach der Einführung und dem Set-Aufbau wurden wir  in vier Crews aufgeteilt, die sich mit jeweils eigenen Tellern aus der Küche "fotografisch ausgetobt" haben.

Dieser Event war speziell. Wir wollten zeigen, dass man sich in der Krise nicht unterkriegen lassen soll und sich in seiner fotografischen Lust weiterentwickeln kann.

Hier ein paar Eindrücke aus dem Event. 

Meine Name ist Nicole Karp. Ich bin die Frau von Guido - und bin nicht "am Standesamt promoviert". Will heißen, ich bin die Frau "behind the scenes" und nenne mich keinesfalls Fotografin. 

 

Leider ist in unserem Event in letzter Sekunde jemand ausgefallen. Da Guido gerne die Dynamik von 3 Teilnehmer pro Gruppe durchgängig beibehalten wollte, hat er mich ins "kalte Wasser geschmissen". Kochen kann ich, fotografiert habe ich das Essen mit Ausnahme von ein paar Handy-Snapshots noch nie. Makro-Fotografie: meine Premiere. 

Nun möchte ich gerne kurz erzählen, wie es für mich war:

Ich bin mit der Technik der Kamera nicht wirklich bewandert. Ich liebe es, mit Guido Konzerte zu fotografieren. Ich habe gelernt, wie ich die Kamera einstellen muss und dass ich mich während dem Konzert nur auf eins konzentrieren muss: die Show. Ich fotografiere nur Bühnentotalen und fokussiere mich auf das Gesamtgeschehen. Also Kamera auf Blende 2.8, ISO 800, 250sec. Das einzige was ich während dem Konzert umstelle ist die Zeit. Sonst gar nichtst, denn ich brauche zu lange um die Einstellungen vorzunehmen und verpasse möglicherweise das Highlight der Show.

Nach der Einführung durch Ingo* und Guido habe ich mich erst einmal an das Set mit der Ringleuchte getraut und dazu auch das erste mal mit dem Datacolor Spyder Checkr gearbeitet. Kamera eingestellt - und schnell  inspiriert von den dargebotenen Tellern. 

Wow! Was für Farben!  Schnell habe ich gemerkt, dass der "normale" Blickwinkel mir nicht genug ist und habe angefangen zu experimentieren. Ab auf den Boden, flach auf den Bauch - und "Bäm!" mein Bild. 

 

Ich weiss, dass Licht das wichtigste Element der Fotografie ist und ich habe mich durch Guido's Lehre immer für Tageslicht begeistern können. Mein Lieblingsbild ist der Teller vor einem Fenster - das Licht mit einem Difuser weichgemacht und gegen das Licht fotografiert. Mein Highlight. Mein Fazit und das der anderen Teilnehmer: erweitere Deinen Horizont. Lass Dich nicht erschrecken und mach das, was Dir Spaß macht! Übrigens, die Fotos sind nahezu "straigth out of cam" von Photoshop hab ich keine Ahnung :-)  Ich habe in Lightroom ein paar Regler "geschubst", das war's schon.                                                                                                                    

Gallerie der Teilnehmer:

wir möchten hier festhalten: alle haben ausnahmslos einen tollen Job gemacht. Viel gelernt und alle anders. Super!

Das sagen die Teilnehmer:

Andreas Müller

Michael Jaster

Ablauf:

Ingo Hilger

 

ist mein “Partner in Crime” - ein liebenswerter Kollege, dessen Aufgabe es ist, im entscheidenden Moment einzuschreiten und zu sagen “so nicht”. Ingo ist nicht nur ausgebildeter Koch & Küchenmeister, sondern auch eine Koryphäe im Bereich Food-Fotografie, der von den renommiertesten Food-Magazinen und Top-Köchen zur Bebilderung ihrer Bücher gebucht wird.

 

Er erlaubt uns mit unserer fotografischen Vision einfach mal los zu legen - und uns dann davor zu bewahren, Anfängerfehler zu machen. 

Foto: Jost Gabriel/ NewCut

 
  • Workshop Sonntag 28. Juni 2020 12-20 Uhr

  • Teilnahmepreis €449.

  • Referenten Ingo Hilger und Guido Karp

  • maximal 12 Teilnehmer = 4 Gruppen à 3 Teilnehmer

  • vier Sets

  • Praxisteil von 13 bis 18 Uhr

  • Obst, Mineralwasser, und Kaffee während des Shooting-Teils

  • anschließend gemeinsames Abendessen

Alle detaillierten Informationen zu diesem Event gibt es HIER zum Download.

Im Preis enthalten:

(C) 2020 GKP.LA - 8033 W SUNSET BLVD., #9500 - LOS ANGELES, CA 90046 USA - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. IMAGES REGISTERED WITH #US-COPYRIGHT-OFFICE